Save time researching using our subject guides

Don’t pull your hair out like Kurt!

Do you ever feel overwhelmed when starting to research for a topic? Kinda like you’re getting more results than annoying notifications from that group chat you’re totally over.

I mean, you search for Nirvana in terms of their influence on the early ‘90s grunge scene, but instead you get heaps of useless results on liberation from rebirth?? [insert confused emoji here]

Wouldn’t it be super convenient if you could just go to one webpage that listed all the databases and resources you needed for your study area. So you’re not searching for music history and getting Buddhist philosophy?

Well, you totally can!

Our discipline librarians have worked hard to compile all the databases and key information resources you’ll need for your subject area into one centralised area. Just go to the Borrowing and Resources library page, and select your subject area under Library guides.

You can select a broad area, such as Health, to see all relevant databases. Or you can further narrow your selection to a specific discipline area, such as Nursing and Midwifery for more detailed information.

Using the resources in these subject guides can help ensure you’re finding information relevant to your specific subject area.

For further help with researching, check out our Study Smart tutorial.


Save time researching by using our Library Guides

Are you finding that researching for your assignment takes ages? There’s just so many resources available in the library and you are spending valuable time trying to find the right ones.

Wouldn’t it be such a great time-saver if all the databases and resources for your study area were in one, easily accessible place?

Well, they are.  Our discipline librarians have worked hard to compile all the databases and key information resources you’ll need for your subject area into one centralised area. Check out their carefully curated Library Guides!

To find them, head to the Borrowing and Resources library page. You’ll see the wide range of subjects covered by our Library Guides – from criminology and law to humanities, social sciences and languages, we are pretty sure we’ve got something for everyone.

You can select a broad area, such as Health, to see all relevant databases. Or you can further narrow your selection to a specific discipline area, such as Nursing and Midwifery for more detailed information.

Using the resources in these subject guides can help ensure you’re finding information relevant to your specific subject area.

For example, if you were wanting to find information on the chemistry of heavy metals, you’d take a squiz at the Chemistry guide. However, if you wanted to find information on the musical genre of heavy metal, you’d want to be looking at the Music guide.


Save time researching by using our subject guides

Photo of heavy metal band

Iron Maiden are heavy metal like the music, not the elements…

Are you finding that researching for your assignment takes ages? Like, longer than the wait for the new season of Game of Thrones to be released?

Wouldn’t it be such a great time-saver if all the databases and resources for your study area were in one, easily accessible place?

Well, they are. Our discipline librarians have worked hard to compile all the databases and key information resources you’ll need for your subject area into one centralised area. Just go to the Borrowing and Resources library page, and select your subject area under Library guides.  

You can select a broad area, such as Health, to see all relevant databases. Or you can further narrow your selection to a specific discipline area, such as Nursing and Midwifery for more detailed information.

Using the resources in these subject guides can help ensure you’re finding information relevant to your specific subject area.

For example, if you were wanting to find information on the chemistry of heavy metals, you’d take a squiz at the Chemistry guide. However, if you wanted to find information on the musical genre of heavy metal, you’d want to be looking at the Music guide.


Using the subject guides

Are you finding it difficult to find relevant information on the Library Catalogue? Are you using Google Scholar and retrieving a lot of irrelevant information? It can be so easy to spend hours of searching for relevant journal articles, books and websites, only to find information that is not relevant for your assignment.

This is when the subject guides created by your friendly librarians at Griffith Library may help. Link to the Subject Guides next to the Library Catalogue and pick a broad subject area to browse. Subject guidesFor example, for an assignment on the influence of drought on the gestation period of the Eastern Grey Kangaroo, it may be helpful to browse the Ecology and Conservation Biology subject guide from Environment, Planning and Architecture link on the Library home page.

To locate peer-reviewed articles on this subject, click on the Articles and journals tab to view the most relevant databases in Ecology and Conservation Biology. Try searching ScienceDirect, for relevant journal articles about the topic.

Clicking on the Data, maps and images tab may retrieve relevant information on a particular species of kangaroo. For example, the Australian Biodiversity Resources Study website contains information gathered by the Australian Government Department of the Environment.

For assistance in locating information for your assignments, book a Research and Referencing consultation with a Librarian.