Protect your digital life on your mobile device


wb-it-security-mobile-grey

When you lend your mobile device, did you know you’re also sharing your internet account, email and Facebook?

And do really want to give your study buddy access to your Facebook account? They’ll just post cringe-worthy selfies from your camera roll or startling revelations about your embarrassing celebrity crush (which is obvs completely false).

Or even worse. They could use up all your internet data to watch cats being funny on YouTube. Which is fine, but only if you got to see the furry feline shenanigans as well.

How does this happen? Well, you’re connected to the Griffith Wi-Fi on your mobile device, right? You’ll notice that once you’ve signed in, you are never asked to sign in again. It’s just so convenient to have it connect automatically when you’re on campus.

But it also means that when you share your mobile phone, tablet or laptop with your classmate, all their internet use will be billed and logged against you!

And don’t forget, you’re probably logged into all your social media and email accounts as well.

Which means they can not only post to your Facebook (as you), but also to Snapchat, Instagram and Twitter. And just for kicks, they could swipe right for all of Tinder.

Now, your friends and classmates are probably too responsible to be irresponsible with your digital life. They would never prank post on your social media, use all your internet data, or mess with your email.

But if they do. Just remember, we told you so.

For advice on how to stay safe online, visit the Griffith University IT Security web page.