Where can you find free stock images?


images

I’m constantly on the hunt for the perfect photo. You know what I mean; the image with the right subject matter, colour composition, and orientation which basically just screams ‘I’m the one’.

And I don’t want to pay for it.  Nor do I want to infringe copyright law by pinching a photo from a random website.

But unless you are a talented photographer, graphic designer or illustrator, creating an image from scratch is simply not an option. And even then, you surely wouldn’t have time to create an original image. Every. Single. Time.

So what is one to do? Well, there are websites out there who provide images for re-use under Creative Commons (CC) licences.

A CC licence allows you to use the image for free without infringing copyright. Some have a bunch of conditions attached. For example, you can’t adapt or change the work or use it for commercial purposes.

Some have no conditions at all, like Pixabay. I’ve been using Pixabay for years and years. If you haven’t used Pixabay, and have a website, blog, any social media at all, or are generally existing in this century, you need to get onto it. Now.

Pixabay images have a Creative Commons CC0 license. Basically, this means you can adapt and use them for commercial purposes without attributing the original author or source.

But in the hunt for the perfect image, I need more options. Surely ol’ Pixabay isn’t the only one of its kind. What other sites provide quality images for free, don’t require attribution, and have images that don’t look too ‘stocky’? I mean, I want to keep it ‘real’ people.

So I asked the Internet a simple question: Are there other free image sites that could give Pixabay a run for its money? And the Internet answered (well, Google did). And yes, yes there are.  Here’s what I found (trust me, you’ll want to bookmark these):

Can’t find the image you need? If you don’t mind attributing the source of the work, there’s a bucket load of Creative Commons images out there.

Head to CC Search to find almost all the images on the Internet with a CC licence (be sure to read the little disclaimer on the CC Search page).